Faculty News for the Annals of Tropical Pathology September 2017

2017 FACULTY ALL FELLOWS MEETING/LECTURE

The 21st Faculty of Pathology All Fellows Lecture/Meeting took place during the Annual Scientific Congress and All Fellows meeting of the College (ASCAF) in Kano on the 8th August 2017. The annual Lecture was delivered by Dr. Philip Olatunji (Professor of Haematology). The Topic of the lecture was on the theme: Pathology (laboratory Medicine): Past, Present and Prospects. This is remarkable, because this is the first time the Annual Lecture of the Faculty is given separate from the November Fellowship Examinations in Lagos.

FACULTY ELECTIONS

Elections into the Faculty Board were held on the 11th of August 2017 at the Tahir Guest Palace, Kano. The following Fellows were duly elected. They are:

DR. FM ABBIYESUKU	CHAIRMAN	(Chemical pathology)
DR. TT WAKAMA	SECRETARY	(Haematology)
DR. AA MAYUN	3 RD SENATE MEMBER	(Histopathology)
DR. EJC NWANA	MEMBER	(Histopathology)
DR. P. JIBRIN	"	(Histopathology)
DR. EE UGIAGBE	"	(Histopathology)
DR. ISAH YAHAYA	"	(Chemical Pathology)
DR. AB OKESINA	"	(Chemical Pathology)
DR. AA AKANDE	"	(Chemical Pathology)
DR. M. ENOSOLEASE	"	(Haematology)
DR. AISHA KULIYA-GWARZO	"	(Haematology)
DR. AISHA SULEIMAN	"	(Haematology)
DR. R. BAKARE	"	(Med. Microbiology)
DR. DZ EGAH	"	(Med. Microbiology)
DR. UC OZUMBA	"	(Med. Microbiology)
DR. SO SAMUEL	"	(Med. Microbiology)
EX-OFFICIO		, 6,7,
DR. KC IREGBU		(Med. Microbiology)
DR. MS SHEHU		(Histopathology)

The elected Faculty Chairman will take over from Dr. K.C. Iregbu, the current chairman, on 1st January 2018.

2017 CONVOCATION CEREMONY

The 2017 convocation took place on the 21st of September 2017 at the College Premises, Ijanikin, Lagos. A total of 387 Convokees were admitted as Fellows of the college out of which 41 (3 were not physically present) were fellows of the Faculty of Pathology. The newly admitted Fellows are

- Dr. Abubakar, Nabilah Dati
- Dr. Udo, Christiana EA
- Dr. Ibrahim, Hauwa
- Dr. Galadanci, Aisha A
- Dr. Agbapajulu, Chibuzo O
- Dr. Jeje, Olusola Akanni
- Dr. Abdulmalik, Abdulmumin Ali
- Dr. Omoruyi, Kenneth A
- Dr. Ogban, Godwin I
- Dr. Oguntunde, Olubanji A
- Dr. Obadofin, Omobolade O
- Dr. Musa, Sanni
- Dr. Orih, Michael Chinwe
- Dr. Ikeri, Nzechukwu Zimudo
- Dr. Ezenwenyi, Innocent Paul
- Dr. Chukwuka, Emeka P
- Dr. Bashir, Ibrahim
- Dr. Oluogun, Waheed Akanni
- Dr. Idi, Hadiza Tikau
- Dr. Aliyu, Usman Bappa
- Dr. Dahiru, Aliyu Waziri
- Dr. Idris, Ibrahim Musa
- Dr. Eyam, Sunday Eyam
- Dr. Onabowale, Tolulope A
- Dr. Ajani, Tinuade A
- Dr. Suleiman, Dauda Eneyamire
- Dr. Origbo, Charles E
- Dr. Olayimika, Oluwatosin O
- Dr. Sabitu, Muhammad Zainu
- Dr. Alex-Wele, Mary A
- Dr. Allison, Frederick Igila
- Dr. Haladu, Halima
- Dr. sanda, Abdallah
- Dr. Edwin, Oluwayomi A
- Dr. Ayodele, Olapade A
- Dr. Shittu, Abdulwahab A
- Dr. Edewor-Okiyo, Oghale Deborah
- Dr. Irabor, Foluke Olanike
- Dr. Faro, Ramat Olayinka
- Dr. Ahmad, Abdullahi M
- Dr. Emedoh, Andrew Emeka

PRIZES/AWARDS

Various prizes and awards were also given to the following recipients

S/NO	PRIZE/AWARD	AWARDEE
1	Dr. Alexander Eyimofe Boyo Prize for Best Part I Candidate in Chemical Pathology	Dr. ALIYU Ganiyu Gbagirimojo
2	Victor Wakwe Prize for Best Part II Candidate in Chemical Pathology	Dr. JEJE, Olushola Akanni
3	M. A. Durosinmi Prize for Best Candidate in Part I FMCPath Examination	DR. OTOKITI Oluwakemi Elizabeth
4	Prof. Ed. B. Attah Prize for Best Performing Graduate in Histopathology (Anatomical Pathology) in Part II FMCPath	Dr. IKERI Nzechukwu Zimodu
5	Prof. Aba Sagoe Prize for Best Candidate at FMCPath Examination in Haematology & Blood Transfusion	DR. CHUKWUKA, Emeka Patrick
6	Prof. Tolu Odugbemi Prize for Best Candidate in Medical Microbiology in Part II FMCPath Examination	DR. SHITTU, Abdulwahab Adewale

On behalf of the Faculty, we congratulate all the new Fellows and the prizes/Award winners. We wish greater successes in your future endeavours.

ANNALS OF TROPICAL PATHOLOGY (ATP)

As directed by the Faculty Board, a new Editorial Board for the faculty Journal, Annals of Tropical Pathology has been constituted. The membership is as follows, with Dr. Saad Ahmed (Professor of Anatomical Pathology, with ABUTH) as the Editor-in-Chief. The board has since started work leading to the production of this edition of the ATP. Let's give them all the support to make the journal viable and 'visible' globally.

S/No	Name	Designation
1	Dr. Saad Ahmed	Editor-In-Chief
2	Dr. Boaz Adegboro	Editorial adviser
3	Dr. AA Mayun	Associate Editor (Histopathology
4	Dr. Paul Jibrin	Associate Editor (Histopathology)
5	Dr. PO Olatunji	Associate Editor (Haematology)
6	Dr. Abdulaziz Hassan	Associate Editor (Haematology)
7	Dr. VC Wakwe	Associate Editor (Chemical Pathology)
8	Dr. Oyetunji Soriyan	Associate Editor (Chemical Pathology)
9	Dr. Adebola Olayinka	Associate Editor (Microbiology)
10	Dr. Sunday Olowo Samuel	Associate Editor (Microbiology)
11	Dr. Dauda E Suleiman	Editorial Assistant
12	Dr. Nwajiobi-Princewill	Editorial Assistant

COLLEGE COMPUTERIZATION/EXAMINATIONS

As part of its full computerization process, the College commenced Computer Based Test format for the March 2017 MCQ (Part 1, Paper 1) fellowship examinations. This process will continue at this September 2017 Part 1 examinations. It is hoped that by next year both the Primary and Part 1 MCQ parts of the examinations will be by CBT methods. The college is now almost fully computerized (paperless). Most correspondences are now by done electronically. We should therefore be more aware and check our e-mails regularly, especially, invitations for examinations, accreditations etc. Also kindly regularly update your records – contact addresses, phone numbers, emails with the College and Faculty. Sooner than later, we hope to commence electronic assessment of Proposals.

NEW EXAMINERS

New criteria for choice of examiners have been sent to the College for approval. In the meantime, the Faculty has ap proved 2 'Observer Examiners' for each Sub-specialty at the examinations. These 'observers' should meet the minimum criteria - not less than 5 years post Fellowship, in good financial standing at College and Faculty levels, in accredited Institutions with residents in training. They are to sponsor themselves as examiners at least for 2 consecutive exams. They can then be invited as full examiners having been 'certified' by the court of examiners.

COMMUNICATION

Is there anything at your centre that you want the Faculty to be aware of or to take action on, please do not hesitate to contact the Faculty secretary on: faceefmcpath@npmcn.edu.ng.

DR. TT WAKAMA
Faculty Secretary